iPhone Cover

Anyone that knows me, knows that I love digital scrapbooking.  I discovered it in May 2006 and it literally changed my life.  I would stay up until all hours of the night learning how to do it and would get up early to work on a page for a just a few minutes before work.  I learned so much because I became a member of a couple of forums with other digital scrapbookers.  I’ve “met” some amazing people on these forums.  Now, my main hang out is The Lily Pad.  I love that forum.  The people there are amazing scrapbookers, but there are also a bunch of avid readers there and recently we’ve started a book club amongst ourselves.  There are also so many amazing creative and craft girls over there.  People are constantly posting cool pictures of craft projects and ideas and then I can’t get them out of my head until I make them myself.  A couple weeks ago, someone posted a felt stitched owl made into an iPhone cover and I immediately fell in love with it.

Saturday after we went to the beach, we stopped in our local 5 and dime store that has a decent little craft section.  They had a rack of felt and on a whim I decided to buy some colors and give that owl a try.  I needed one piece of regular fabric for my owl, so I ran out to Joanns after the boys were in bed.  I found exactly what I wanted in the clearance section.  Bonus!  I came home, fired up Photoshop and set to work on a pattern.  I printed my pattern and then started tracing onto the felt.  I cut the pieces out tacked them together with a little Alene’s tacky glue and then looked up the blanket stitch on the internet.  I work on it while watching TV with my husband and I just couldn’t stop until it was finished.  I finally finished it at 1:20 in the morning.  Whoops!  I guess it’s a good thing I’m a night owl…. pun intended.  🙂  Anyway, this is the adorable iPhone cover I came up with.  I bought some more felt tonight to make another one… pictures to follow.

If you are interested in the pattern that I made, you can download it HERE.

You need to stitch all of the little pieces onto the front piece first.  Leave the stitching along the outer edge of the wings off, until you stitch the front to the back.  Make sure the left wing goes on first and then the right.  The pattern for the left wing is jagged and the one side is not mean to show.

I’d loved to hear if you make one for yourself!

6 thoughts on “iPhone Cover

  1. Thank you so much! My daughter saw these and has been begging me (I mean that literally! She’s 11) to make her one of these! A pattern will make it so much easier!

  2. Hey Karen! Thanks for the owl tutorial! Can’t wait to try this. I happened upon your blog through pinterest, but I believe we were aquatinted before at ScrapGirls! great to see you are still going strong with the digi-scrapping! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tropical Phone Cover |

Leave a Reply

