My first GSO!

Today I posted my layout for the Scrap Artist Art Therapy Thursday challenge.  I love how it turned out.  I took a picture of my Dad’s and then blended about 10 papers underneath the picture to really pop out the colors.  Added some overlays on top with another paper clipped to them and added my text and a few simple elements.  Voila!  I didn’t spend a huge amount of time on this one because I knew exactly what I wanted to do when I started and I found the right papers pretty quickly.  Everything just fell together.  Today shortly after I posted my layout, I received a comment on it at MSA with a note that I’d been featured at Gallery Standouts!  I’m SO over the moon excited!

Here is my Dad’s original picture:

Dad's Sunset picture

Dad's Sunset picture

and here is my layout using it:

I set two digital scrapbooking goals for myself for the year.  The first was to get a layout featured at Gallery Standouts and the other was to get a layout published in Digital Artist Magazine.  One down, one to go.  🙂

 

Also the final tally of points was listed at the So You Think You Can Scrap (SUTUCS) blog this week.  Out of 196 people in the advanced category I ranked #33.  that’s WAY better than I expected and I’m very pleased with that.  Mostly I’m just happy that I finished the competition and I ended up with some great pages that I spent an extra measure of time on.

Leave a Reply

